Tt-rss not using accept-encoding header for compressed data transfers

As a webmaster, I see Tiny Tiny RSS in my logs and see it does not use data compression (accept-encoding header). As all modern HTTP clients support this, we decided to block those.

2024-04-20T01:41:30+00:00 426 1.2.3.4 "GET /feed/ HTTP/1.1" 16 "-" "Tiny Tiny RSS/24.04-b1e3d660e (Unsupported) (https://tt-rss.org/)" TLSv1.3/TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384 0.000 .

Why is the software not using data compression? It is obvious that this saves a lot of data to be transferred, which is good for publishers, users, and data centers.

Addition: I’m not a user of TT-RSS, but see it a lot showing up in our log (multiple IP addresses). That is why I took the time to register here and submit the issue.

are we talking about this compression that you have to disable because it’s a vulnerability or something else?

Yes, and no. You don’t have to disable compression, because the compression method itself isn’t a vulnerability in itself. Only with the right conditions (TLS, compression, user input, sensitive information) it can be an issue. But that is something the server owner or application owner should consider. All common browsers use compression/Accept-Encoding as well (gzip, brotli, deflate, sometimes zstd).

Addition: older version has no problem using data encoding:
2024-04-20T22:20:04+00:00 200 x.x.x.x "GET /feed/ HTTP/2.0" 36267 "-" "Tiny Tiny RSS/23.09-f489f620 (https://tt-rss.org/)" TLSv1.3/TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384 0.000 .

So maybe something in the code changed last 6-7 months?