Updating display with comment counts from reddit

Hi,

I’ve been running tt-rss on my home server for a long time now. It works great and I love it, so I hadn’t felt the need to update for some time (cough 3 years cough).

Anyway, I git pull origin-ed yesterday and everything’s great.

Everything but my “custom” reddit comment count display. At some point, I think reddit stopped updating their feeds with number of comments a post had. At that time, I created a service (php file) that updated the ttrss_entries table with number of comments a post had via reddit’s api. I can no longer see this number

I have been looking at the code since, and, being a mediocre programmer, I am kind of confused. From what I can tell ttrss_entries.num_comments is no longer used to fill-in what is displayed as number of comments for an entry. (I am having a hard time figuring out how “headlines” ultimately get populated from backend to js).

I think I can hook into things and replicate my previous behavior (see example below).

Is HOOK_FORMAT_ARTICLE the right one to use for updating number of comments that are displayed? In experimenting with it, I can’t get HOOK_FORMAT_ARTICLE to do anything. I don’t think it’s triggering at all? I tried deleting my session from ttrss_sessions to see if that would trigger it, but it seems not.

Thanks in advance!

<?php
 class Reddit_Comments extends Plugin {

private $host;

// You can change the description of this plugin here
    function about() {
       return array(1.0,
          "Update reddit comments count via their api.",
          "d0e8414e");
    }

function api_version() {
		 return 2;
	 }

function init($host) {
       $this->host = $host;

$host->add_hook($host::HOOK_ARTICLE_FILTER, $this);
		 $host->add_hook($host::HOOK_RENDER_ARTICLE, $this);
    }

function hook_article_filter($article) {
      //Call reddit api to update comment count in 
      //ttrss_entries?

return $article;
   }

function hook_render_article($article) {