Amateur docker-compose SSL configuration (self signed, manual let's encrypt)

I’ve recently struggled to get SSL working on my TT-RSS docker-compose install and wanted to give back to the community by writing about my experiences for anyone else who wants to follow in my footsteps. Please note that I’m an amateur and make no claims about the soundness of my advice. I’m also writing this after the fact and trying to recreate some of the steps from memory so I may have missed something.

SELF SIGNED

The ttrss-docker/docker-compose.yml file defines a web container (no SSL) and a web-ssl container (SSL). Unfortunately for anyone setting up TT-RSS on a private network the web-ssl container is configured to use Let’s Encrypt with a public address. If your TT-RSS server is not on the open internet the web-ssl container is a dead end.

So, I decided to do all my configuration in the existing web container.

The first thing you need to do is generate your SSL certificate. You can find a thousand guides for this on the internet but you should make sure your certificate’s common name is the IP of the TT-RSS server and that your certificate contains the subjectAltName extension set to the same IP. For example (using openssl to generate the certificate):

openssl req -new -newkey rsa:4096 -x509 -sha256 -days 365 -nodes -addext “subjectAltName = IP:x.x.x.x” -out fullchain.pem -keyout privkey.pem

Where x.x.x.x is the IP of your TT-RSS server. Next you need give the web container access to your certificate. Put your certificate files (fullchain.pem and privkey.pem) somewhere, e.g. /home/user/ssl, then edit ttrss-docker/docker-compose.yml and add a volume under the web container like so:

volumes:
      - app:/var/www/html:ro
      - /home/user/ssl:/ssl:ro

This makes the /home/usr/ssl directory accessible to the web container (located at /ssl inside the container, “ro” means read only).